Thursday, 23 Jul, 2009 Technology

Candidates for World Car of the Year Revealed


The list of candidates for the official World Car of the Year (WCOTY) has recently been unveiled, and surprisingly a number of leading carmakers did not make it into the list. Some of them include: Ford, Fiat, Volkswagen, Opel/Vauxhall and Volvo.

The list, however, include a number of other famous names. Here are the all vehicles that were included in the list for World Car of the Year (in alphabetical order):

  • Audi Q5;
  • BMW 5-series Gran Turismo X1 and Z4;
  • Buick LaCrosse/Allure;
  • Cadillac SRX;
  • Chevrolet Camaro;
  • Chevrolet Cruze;
  • Citroën C3 Picasso;
  • Ferrari California;
  • Honda Insight;
  • Hyundai Genesis Coupé and i20;
  • Infiniti QX, Jaguar XJ;
  • Kia Cerato Koup/Forte;
  • Sorento and Soul;
  • Lexus HS250h and RX;
  • Lotus Evora, Mazda3;
  • Mercedes E-class;
  • Mitsubishi Outlander;
  • Nissan 370Z;
  • Cube and Patrol;
  • Peugeot 3008;
  • Porsche Boxster/Cayman and Panamera;
  • Renault Scenic;
  • Subaru Legacy/Outback;
  • Toyota Prius.

During the upcoming months, the appointed World Car of the Year jury members from different parts of the globe will be presenting their votes and at the beginning of 2010 one car will be marked the World Car of the Year 2010.

Below you can see the list of cars selected to participate in the race for the World Performance Car title:

  • Aston Martin V12 Vantage;
  • Audi R8 V10;
  • Audi S4 Limousine/Avant;
  • Audi TT RS Coupe/Roadster;
  • BMW 335i;
  • BMW X6M/X5M;
  • BMW Z4;
  • Jaguar XFR;
  • Mazdaspeed3;
  • Mercedes E63 AMG;
  • Mitsuubishi Lancer Sportback Ralliart;
  • Nissan 370Z;
  • Porsche 911 GT3;
  • Porsche Boxster/Cayman;
  • Renault Clio 3 Renaultsport.
Powered by

Add your comment:

antispam code